Work/Life Balance

I am a working mom, a chemical engineer who works from 7am-5pm every day.  I received my Master’s degree and I work as a Strategic Business Planner now.  My passion outside of work has always been real estate.  When I was in college, I bought my first house (because it was cheaper than renting).  When I moved to New Orleans from Mobile AL I kept my house and it became my first rental property.  I still have this property and it has done very well for me for my taxes.  I bought another house in New Orleans in 2010.  My husband and I are now in the process of building a new house.  I will keep everyone posted on the learnings I have on my first build!

Something that is important to me is making sure I am home in the evening to be mommy for my two children who are 2 and 3.  These two kids are my whole life and my family time and making sure I make time for my husband is my number 1 priority.  For me, exercise in the evening is not an option.  I want to be Super Mom and I did not want to put my personal goals above my family.  That being said – I needed ME time.

I found the time which worked best for me to have quality time in the gym is in the morning from 4:30am-6am.  I play tag with my husband and he leaves for work by 6:10am.  This allows me to get my workouts in before the rest of my world wakes up their pretty little eyes.  This being said, I do not dress up for work, I wear a head hat, steel toe boots and FRC clothing.  I do not have to wear makeup or fix my hair.

This alone time, helps give me clarity for the day and aids in reducing my overall stress.  It also helped with my sleeping and cortisol levels, because in order to wake up at 4:30am, I need to be in bed by 9pm.  If for some reason I am not able to meet the morning gym time, I try to go during lunch for 45 mins or so.  This also helps me tremendously because I am able to step out of the office to clear my head.

My final passion, which is a relatively new for me is becoming involved with  my church.  My children attend a public school and I wanted them to have a strong Christian background which would have to be developed at home.  We looked around for a few years and have found Calvary Baptist, here in New Orleans which has a fantastic children’s program!  We joined in Jan 2017 and by March I had made a decision to go on my first mission trip to Romania.  Raising money for the trip is where I got the idea to start the website to inspire others using diet and fitness wellness coaching to help fund my 2018 mission work!